wake up frankie

Wake up Frankie was formed in 2017 by guitarists Otto Halli and Vesku Pääkkönen. They shared the idea of combining old school thrash riffs to sing-along choruses with modern sound of the  2000s. Singer Kassu Meriläinen and bassist Dimitris Kavvadas joined later that year and “thrashrock” was born. The band’s current line-up was locked in the beginning of 2020 when the drummer Jari Rantanen joined the band. 

The band competed in Tuska-Torstai -competition (a Finnish battle of the bands) in 2019, ending up winning the competition and getting awarded a chance to play at Tuska Festival, Helsinki. 

In the beginning of 2020 the band signed a management deal with Arc Flame Entertainment and released their first EP “Green Is The New Black” in fall 2020. The EP became an immediate streaming success with the single “The Outlaw” getting placing on multiple metal playlists on Spotify.  The band joined Ranka’s roster in early 2022 and will be releasing their debut album in 2023. 


Kassu Meriläinen – Vocals
Otto Halli – Guitars, vocals
Vesku Pääkkönen – Guitars, vocals
Dimitris Kavvadas – Bass, vocals
Veikka Laru – Drums


Thrashrockin’ Beats (2023)
Green Is the New Black (EP 2020)


Arc Flame Entertainment
Mike Lynch


Fullsteam Agency
Jaakko Salo


press photos

Photos by Pekka Keränen